Mizo Vawksa (Smoked Pork stir fried with Oyster Mushrooms and Baby Spinach)

simple, sophisticated and splendid

Antypasti

Mizo Vawksa (smoked pork with oyster mushrooms and baby spinach) Mizo Vawksa (smoked pork with oyster mushrooms and baby spinach)

Let me start off by saying this recipe is not Mizo but its the closest I could get with the ingredients I had on hand. However the smoked pork I used was the Mizo version of it called Vawksa. I was elated to be able to lay my hands on some of that lovely stuff that my brother’s friends had managed to get for him. In my defence, I only took some of it and not all, from him since it smelt so irresistible. Having had smoked pork from the other seven sister states such Meghalaya and Nagaland, I felt every state had its own traditional method of smoking the pork, which is why each tastes different than the other. The Mizo version had large chunks of browned meat, largely boneless, with skewer marks through them, and that smelt, blasphemous…

View original post 265 more words

Leave a Reply

